Look at Their Eyes

I didn’t plan to become a professional magician.  The art of magic seduced me.

In 1990, I was at a crossroads in my life.  With my journalism credentials, I knew I could become a corporate writer and make a steady income.  Or I could become a magician, a path that carried with it the risks of the artistic life.  I decided to pursue both and see which one triumphed.

But passion, like the salmon, makes it own way.  For every one hour that I spent pursuing corporate writing, I spent 40 or more pursuing magic.

In short order, I became obsessed with learning the deepest secrets.  I would study magic all the time.  Magical ideas were constantly churning in my head.  I had to make a pact with myself not to read magic fewer than two hours before bedtime.  If I did, I would have insomnia thinking about magical means and methods.

Formal promo shotBut for me, it wasn’t just about the trick; it was also about how deception, subterfuge, and illusion reflected themselves in my life.  Appropriateness was a shell game.  Certain people were living sleights.  It was all about psychology, upbringing, presentation, charisma, and the way we make our way in the world.  I learned so many truths from the study of magic, much in the way that Robert Pirsig contemplated the universe that lay within motorcycle engines.

My current show, The Jungle Show, is replete with this type of material: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLAB6E5A5EF1C144D7

“People wonder why I use the term, skeptic,” I say in the middle of my show.  “Let me tell you a little bit about the entomology of that word.  You know what entomology is.  It’s the study of things that bug me.”

So when I started writing my newest novel, What Happens to Us, in 2007, I knew that my passion for magic had to be part of it.  My character Dante is the embodiment of that.  Even his name echoes the history of magic in more ways than one.

Image

To download the ebook, What Happens to Us, for only $3.99, go here: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00DSSN5SU

If you don’t own a Kindle, you can download the Kindle for PC or Kindle for Mac software for free here: http://www.amazon.com/gp/kindle/pc/download

Leave a Reply

